1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Sunday, Jul. 10, 2011 - 21:44

So the big race of the year is over, and I did not get under 2 hours like I wanted to, even though I have no right to even be thinking about a time goal. It was fun and I had fun and the ankle didn't start hurting until about 10 miles in, so it's all good. I got hungry and tired and decided to eat a bunch of organic free-range gummy bears at mile 10 and experienced only mild gastrointestinal distress after that. I guess the best part of the story is that I was in the porta-potty when the race gun went off (not because I was spending hours in the porta-potty but because the lines were so long and I finally got in there and suddenly the announcer guy was like "10, 9..." and I think they started a minute early anyway). Etc.

After the race I cheered for people finishing the full, and cheered for my friends, and ran the last couple tenths of a mile with one of my friends who was doing her first full marathon, and then we went to a bar and I had a bacon cheeseburger, and then I came home and fell asleep, and then I went to a party, and then I came home and watched a couple Charlie Chaplin films. I think I'll get into bed now and read - I'm reading Charlie Chaplin's autobiography and it's great.

Historically I can't sleep well after this race despite having to get up at 4 a.m., so I'm going to work late tomorrow. I should have taken the whole stinking day off. Work schmork! I should find me a new job.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019