1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Sunday, Apr. 24, 2011 - 10:18

This is the first nice weekend we've had this year - warm and sunny, the sky is clear. I was hoping for rain today but it looks like that won't happen. I'm going in to work for two or three hours today and am trying to time it to minimize contact with my roommate and his girlfriend. Maybe they'll go to her mom's house for Easter dinner?

Easter isn't on my radar at all. I'm kind of mystified by the hubbub, really - I haven't given a crap about Easter since I was a kid, I think. When I was 15 or 16 there was a journal in my Easter basket - it was my first journal and I've kept one ever since, although with huge months-long gaps when I was unhappy in college and grad school. Once I went through my Big Change I started writing every day.

My sister and her husband are moving to a different state. They came through town with their loaded U-Haul yesterday, and my parents were pulling a trailer. Right before we said goodbye I was walking with my sister alone and she told me that she's going to their new house for a couple weeks and then going back home with our parents to stay "indefinitely." She had gotten a job at their new place but has told them she's not going to do it.

I'm hoping she's going through her own Big Change. Not a good thing to hope for, maybe, that your baby sister gets divorced after being married for just a year - but I mean, really, I hope she starts being happy. She hasn't been happy. She deserves a break. I hope she goes through with it this time.

I'm going to work today - blasphemous not because it's Easter Sunday but because it's so sunny and beautiful outside.

And I'm going to buy a new road bike and I'm going to move to a new apartment - I started getting rid of crap yesterday - and then it will be summer.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019