1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

April snowstorms bring May showers?
Friday, Apr. 22, 2011 - 18:00

The sun is out right now and it's lovely outside, after a morning of snow, after a week of terrible weather, after a winter of terrible weather, and I should be outside with everyone else, not inside sitting in a chair and crying. The sun is shining through the window and warming up my feet and I should put an ice pack on my ankle and go sit out on the porch.

It was my boss's last day today and I'd only thought about the professional aspect of it - how shitty it's going to be for us, understaffed as we already are, to absorb her work during these upcoming weeks for these upcoming huge events - how much overtime I've been getting and will continue to get - how it might be a good opportunity for us to refine how the office runs - how it might be a way for me to make it clear to the higher-ups how much I do for them - her boss asked me if I was interested in her position, and the answer was no way jose. But I neglected to think about it on a personal level, and so I was surprised when she left today at noon how sad I was.

Partly I'm jealous - she's free from that place. She moving back to Seattle.

These changes happen in life - graduation, new job, moving, breakups, whatever. They happen without our notice sometimes too - I don't go see bands anymore, at some point that stopped, and I didn't really notice and don't really care. When you're a kid a hundred years is a long time, but when you grow up you can count these things by generations, and a hundred years wasn't that long ago.

I'm going to move in a month or so, although I don't know where yet, and I'll be happy. I won't miss this place. But I don't know if I've taken advantage of it like I should have.

Mostly, I want to go home.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019