1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Sunday, Aug. 15, 2010 - 14:13

I've thought a little more about this year's running season and the races I have coming up and I've pretty much decided to just let the entire season be a wash. I'm still feeling incrementally better but it just ain't there. I meant to go for a seven-mile run today (I meant to go for a seven-mile run last weekend but didn't) and instead turned it into a five-mile run/walk. I felt like poo at first, but once that worked itself out, I just kept on letting myself walk. It was a beautiful morning, I was in a beautiful area, no need to torture myself to get that run in.

I think this is indicative of a major change in attitude and approach to life for me. I've been pushing myself and pushing myself to achieve things, to prove that I can do anything I want. I've also been enjoying myself while doing that, of course, and I've had some lovely times. It's been seven and a half years now and I think I've shown that I can do anything I want to. So now I think I might just let myself enjoy it all without striving to enjoy it, if you know what I mean. Enjoyment doesn't have to be an activity.

I think that next year over the course of one month I'll be running a half marathon, doing a 500-mile bike ride, and then running in a 180-mile relay. This might make you think I'm totally lying in my previous paragraph, but I think it proves that I'm not.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019