1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Debussy
Thursday, Aug. 12, 2010 - 18:42

Brr, why isn't it 95 degrees anymore! WHY! I'm too fat to fit into my pants right now, summer cannot end yet. Every time I've gotten on my bike to ride anywhere this week, it's started raining. And not just raining - POURING. Slanted driving rain. Almost every time I've ridden my bike anywhere. Okay, it's happened three times. But three times is enough!

---

I wonder how my life would have been different if I'd started playing Debussy years ago. I'm struggling through Clair de lune and La fille aux blah blah every night, slowly and laboriously - not because they're particularly hard, but because my brain and fingers aren't used to chords being used that way, aren't used to key signatures with all the flats you can possibly cram in. You have to apply and translate that and my brain and fingers haven't ever had to work on that level. I'm used to Beethoven, I'm used to the sonatas I've been playing all my life.

Years ago I bought a book of Chopin. My goal, I said, was to be able to play it at some point in my life. Way too hard for me, though - not that I ever really tried. I lost my diligence after high school.

Can't fit French Impressionism into my head.

---

The exhaustion has been coming back, slowly, creeping up on me, these three weeks after I ran out of magic tea. I was fine without it at first, but then began wondering if I was getting tired again. Last night at 8:30 I was wiped out, couldn't muster the energy to get up and go to bed, and I knew it was back. Talked to my dreamboat tea supplier - he had some tea left, told me to stop by the bakery this morning before work and he'd give me some. Which I did, and he did. I got up early, I rode across town. I bought a scone with the gift card I won at the race on Saturday, but the poor fellow who was helping me at the register - I could barely give him the time of day, my attentions diverted as they were. I cannot multitask interactions when one of the participants is that guy with the brown eyes.

Uh... gotta go play some Debussy now.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019