1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Monday, Jul. 26, 2010 - 20:45

Summer smoke in the air and from my ride to work this morning (2 minutes late as usual) the sides of my nose were covered in droplets of sweat - it was not cold at all, no chill in the air, the thought of gloves did not cross my mind. The thought of my wanky front tire is what crossed my mind.

So this week it's back to work, which means 40 hours inside, which means I took a vitamin D pill this morning. And we are off to an inauspicious beginning. I woke up at 3 a.m., couldn't go back to sleep for a couple hours, then finally did and had an explicit dream starring two men engaged in an early-morning homosexual sex act on their balcony while one was brushing his hair, slightly disinterested. I do believe that these were two straight-identified dudes who were roommates. They had another roommate who was still in bed and was unaware of the tryst. It's strange how much background information I gleaned from the one-act dream but I think it's obvious that I read Dan Savage.

At work there's a message on my phone and I know it will be momentous and personal but instead of who I imagined it would be it's someone else calling with the opportunity I've been waiting for since I finished my thesis. I don't know how it is that I've been so lucky but here I am. It is an honor and it is extremely humbling (which means I'm terrified).

Meanwhile my involvement with (although sadly not my skills in) radio grows and my next public radio gig is shaping up to be interesting and just may get me a free ticket into something. Or it just may get me uninvited from ever contributing to public radio again. Or both.

My evenings are booked, this celebratory week - strange that it's the third week after the race. I said I'd start running again this week and I suppose I ought. Ought I? Yes.

But I'd love to have a job watering plants.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019