1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Monday, Jul. 19, 2010 - 13:12

Saturday morning I get up, go to the mall for my waxing appointment (yes, and my eyebrows look great), swing by the post office, come back an hour and a half later to four police cars parked on the street. I'm housesitting, have been there for a week - I don't know who is who and what is what, but I do know that four police cars, only one with its lights flashing, ain't a good thing. In the hour and a half that I was gone, across the street some family tragedy has happened. It's hard to imagine, a warm and sunny Saturday morning in July. A few people are standing there, two people hugging each other and looking at the yard, the neighbor out on her stoop smoking. Later in the day a woman's leaning against the house crying, a teenage girl rubbing her back. I'm trying to imagine what it was that happened but I don't know. The neighborhood was quiet. They had two tiki torches lit - sunny and 90 degrees. I was trying not to be an asshole out hanging my laundry and reading in the sun but there I was hanging my laundry and reading in the sun on a hot summer's day, on the other side of the street.

That night the outdoor movie was Stand By Me. Afterwards I walked back, along with other neighbors. The night had gotten cool.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019