1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

I don't even use that office!
Monday, Sept. 28, 2009 - 19:49

Got another fortuitous or whatever email on Friday, this one asking if I'd be interested in teaching one (1) student three to five (3-5) hours per week. I'm meeting with the person in charge on Thursday. If they pay enough to make it worth my time, then sure. I'm not entirely convinced I want to teach but I'm not about to turn down a job offer now am I - especially one so careery, and especially since my job situation at the moment is so temporary. But my time, as you know, is so valuable.

Also, on Thursday, my jobby boss asked if I'd stay until they hire my replacement, which will surely take another month at least. So. Two more weeks at least of health insurance and a semblance of a paycheck.

Also, we got a one-time-only amount of money. It is not a bonus. It is a one-time-only amount of money. That will help make up for about a half-month of smaller paychecks. Pretty nice.

Also, when I do actually separate from my job, I will get paid out for annual leave and sick leave and that will make up for about a half-month of smaller paychecks. I've been sleeping a little better lately.

At the moment right outside my back door is a horrific crime scene, a battlefield of soggy box elder bug corpses. (Parsing: soggy [[[box elder] bug] corpses].) Those shitheads. I was fine with them - they don't do anything, don't bother me - until they suddenly multiplied in staggering amounts. The only bugs I'm okay with clumps of is honeybees. NO CLUMPS ALLOWED FOR OTHER BUGS. NONE.

Got my new Pearl Jam record today, met the UPS guy at the door. Etched on the record are: "Gramma Marge, Daughter of Pearl 1918-2009" and "R.J.O.K.V.H.J... M.R. Forever". In addition to the other usual numbers and letters. Sweet, huh?

Oh. This morning I rode my bike to work and realized to my utter dismay that I'd left my bike lock at home. I considered my options: Tie my bike up with some sort of rope? Fasten it to the bike post with my helmet straps? Just leave it unlocked and hope no one noticed?

Two seconds later I saw the GM of the radio station who told me he put me on the guest list for a super sweet show on Wednesday - totally made my day and I'm still happy about it.

I rode back home and got my lock, having neglected to consider the reasonablest option: putting my bike in my office.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019