1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Don't call me boring, it's just 'cause I like you
Monday, Aug. 31, 2009 - 21:16

The semester might actually be okay - I'll know more after Wednesday's class, today was just introductory and doesn't really count, but... it might be okay. I know it will be a lot of work (putting together and revising materials from the professor who normally teaches it as well as the materials I have from my first stint at grad school - which was quarters, not semesters, and which separated the two topics of this class into two different classes) and I will learn a lot.

I'm looking forward to ... things. Like, I'm actually looking forward to my job ending. I know it'll be hard financially, but... the non-8-to-5 lifestyle is great, not being tied to a desk or computer. I'm looking forward to the semester, and the semester ending, and then... what. (Sorry about the ellipses.) If I had more money I'd go to Australia in January or February or something. I have a friend moving there in November. I die thinking about this.

I have not had my normal anxiety yet. Last night I was walking across campus, going home after a documentary screening. People were out and about, in twos and threes, young people moved away from home, off to college, waiting for classes to start. One guy was lying in the grass reading a book. I've never regretted the things I did but I don't remember anything at all about when I went to college. I got so wistful about it and I - I don't wish I could go back and do it without a boyfriend but... shh, I kind of do. Man. I don't know. Wistful and nostalgic.

It was a lovely evening, and by the time I got home it had whipped up into an incredible windstorm, dark dark clouds to the south and east. Then thunder and lightning, and then an epic downpour. Summer, the end of summer, summer went out in such a great way.

Had about three cups of coffee this afternoon, and a Dr. Pepper, and coffee with dessert at the barbecue. Will I be able to sleep tonight? No!!! - he wrote back.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019