1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

EVERYTHING IS FINE
Sunday, Aug. 30, 2009 - 13:23

Of all the horrible calamities that could befall me, effortlessly getting a job teaching a university course in my field of study is hardly the worst. And here I am looking back longingly on the days when all I had to do was go to work and there was nothing, absolutely nothing else on the horizon. Remember those halcyon days when everything was stale and lame? Oh to be able to go back and appreciate it!

I'm fine. I'm the expert, remember, and my potential students are probably lovely people who will look up to me as the competent, intelligent scholar that I am. There will be no hecklers.

I'm going to take a shower now and go outside to dry my hair in the sun - it's the last day of summer, technically. I could spend the next 21 hours sitting here frozen in stressful terror, or I could go enjoy the last day of summer. That's what I'm going to do. Then a reception and documentary screening with alcohol and friends. Then, one hour tops finishing up the syllabus tonight - one hour tops.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019