1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Adverb of the day: super
Saturday, Apr. 11, 2009 - 18:32

I've got short hair now, super short - not, though, super curly yet, which is interesting. Don't quite know how to work with it yet. Went to the pharmacy last night to get more magic face stuff (made in Italy), contact drops (made in Spain), hair clips (made in China), and earplugs (made in the USA, twice as much as the brand that didn't appear to be made anywhere). I think the pharmacist had been smoking medical marijuana - she was super giggly, had just gotten her hair cut as well and we commiserated for a while, bouncing our heads around and flicking our flippy hair. It was fun, I enjoyed her.

God, is there anything more depressing than wandering around a drug store or grocery store on a Friday or Saturday night? I love it, there's something so tragic and hilarious about it, down to the emotionally manipulative music they always play - so great.

Slept all night, woke up precisely at 7:00, went back to sleep, had weird dreams, woke up at 9:00. Had a super enjoyable morning keeping America rolling. Went to the caffe, got a latte and scone - are scones French? are lattes Italian? The caffe purports to be Italian. Then, I went to a shop and got some stuff on sale - cards (USA), eye gel (USA), moisturizer (USA?). Then went to Kinkos (USA) and made one (1) photocopy of my goddamn interest statement and I finally mailed my goddamn taxes (USA) via the United States Postal Service (USA). Then I went to a camera store (USA) and bought some 120 film - Ilford (England) and Fuji (Japan). Then I went to the record store (USA) and bought six records, five from the dollar bargain bin (including Lawrence Welk). Then I went to the bakery and ordered three loaves of bread (USA) for Monday.

Yes, I will eventually renew my Diaryland gold membership (Canada), but only after I finally get a legitimate internet connection (USA), which I meant to do today but I called the place I was going to go and 1. they weren't open, and 2. the guy who answered the phone even though they weren't open was very curt, and 3. they're only open M-F 9-5 which is no good at all if you're working during every single one of those hours.

On Thursday after my haircut (USA) I went to the running store (USA) where I bought some Brooks shoes (China). My hair was less than an hour old. The running store is the hub of the running community here so there were lots of people around, people who had seen me less than 24 hours earlier with my old superlong hair. "Oh my gosh," they said. When you get an extreme haircut everyone always says it looks good but they're lying. It doesn't look good, it looks shocking and maybe even shockingly ugly. One guy said it looked like I'd lost weight - yes, actually, I have, probably 5 pounds from all that hair (I was looking a lot like Taylor Dayne). I am much more aerodynamic now.

I'm getting back to the place where I feel like I'm a machine, my body is a machine - eat and run and sleep, eat and run and sleep. I can do incredible things, I can run for miles, I can run up hills - it's fun, this is a fun time of year. Next weekend I have a 10K on Saturday, a 5K on Sunday, and maybe I'll skip the running group Sunday morning - or maybe not. It's probably not super smart to do all three, but it's fun and I can manage.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019