1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

QUINOA SALAD
Sunday, Mar. 15, 2009 - 18:41

THIS IS TOO INCREDIBLE TO KEEP TO MYSELF. I'VE MADE IT THREE (3) TIMES AND IT ONLY GETS BETTER. IT COMES FROM THE KITCHENS OF GOD.

God's Quinoa Salad

Ingredients

1 cup uncooked quinoa
2 cups water
2 cups cherry tomatoes, halved
2 avocados, diced
1/4 cup chopped fresh basil
2 tablespoons of pine nuts, toasted
2 tablespoons of capers, to taste

Caramelized onions:
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 thinly sliced red onion

Basic vinaigrette dressing:
3 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
2 tablespoons fresh lemon or lime juice
2 cloves minced garlic
1/3 cup extra virgin olive oil

salt and pepper to taste

Serves 1. Or I suppose it could also serve 4-6 as a side dish but everyone will want to eat it all themselves and fights might break out.

Preparation

Bring the quinoa and water to boil. When the water boils, reduce the heat to a simmer and cook until the water is absorbed, approximately 10 minutes. When cooked, quinoa has a texture similar to perfectly cooked pasta, or rice. Strain and rinse well under cold water.

While the quinoa is cooking, in a skillet heat olive oil over medium heat and saute the onions until transparent.

Prepare the vinaigrette by combining the ingredients and whisking.

In a large salad bowl, toss all of the ingredients together, including caramelized onions and the vinaigrette.

Serve cold or at room temperature, or eat directly from the mixing bowl with a fork or spoon or your fingers because it's so good you won't be able to stop yourself.

Okay, I didn't actually get it from God per se, I got it from here. They say to add artichoke hearts, which I did the first time I made it and didn't like, so I've taken them out. Also, they say to use red quinoa, and I don't know what that is.

SO GOOD. I JUST ATE TWO (2) BOWLS AND I THINK I MIGHT GO GET SOME MORE. YUM.

p.s. The Ides of March - did you survive? Good, me too.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019