1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Sunday, Jan. 18, 2009 - 16:13

My head is tired - maybe staying in bed until 10 a.m. yesterday and today isn't helping. But I've needed to catch up on sleep.

Finally made a doctor's appointment. It's hard and confusing when you don't have a doctor to make an appointment with. I called one place, said I wanted to make an appointment, said I was having trouble breathing. "You need to go to the emergency room," the lady said. No, I said, it's not an emergency, my lungs are tight, I think I have- "If a patient comes to us complaining of shortness of breath we won't even see them, we send them to the emergency room," she said. Okay, I said, and I called another place, careful this time to not mention breath at all. I think I might have asthma, I said. "January 27?" they said. Sure.

I haven't written any details of the last week here. Good. I would have made it seem like mountains, when really it's just molehills. This and that on facebook, a happy incident at the radio station that resulted in me spending 10 minutes in the studio with -- I have no idea what he was wearing and I have no idea how long his hair is now but his eyes are still brown.

I went to a Buddhist center and learned a little meditation. Went home that night, so tired, but got woken up at 3. Tried to breathe my way to a clear head and resumed sleep, but then I decided that I like thinking about what I'm thinking about. I can't let go because I don't want to. What if you don't want to?

Am planning to go back to the Buddhist place this week, even though that means missing most of his radio show.

Listening to NPR today - old jazz now, but they've been playing all that hoohaw going on in D.C. If I had a TV I'd probably be crying so much - as it is, I've only teared up once or twice.

Anyway. It's been sunny here, sunny and warm and, frankly, glorious, although this weekend has been gray and white. I'm grateful for my good friends, and basketball games.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019