1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Monday, Jan. 12, 2009 - 15:06

It's an unremarkable day, one of many, one after another, ho hum, and I got the sudden idea to document these humdrum things, for no reason at all, just to waste time and put off the inevitable. The inevitable what? The inevitable what?

I want to say now that I have the attention span of a shoelace, a phrase that popped into my head half an hour ago that I've been trying to construct some sort of story around. I have the attention span of a shoelace these days, oh ha ha ha.

I'm working on filing at work, something I've put off for seven months (because I've been too busy). Now that things are picking up (things are picking up) I'm back.

A year ago at this time things started picking up as well. This is the pattern of my year, this could be the pattern of my years. From January through May I live with a packed calendar that looks something like this:

Tonight: introductory marathon talk
Tomorrow: run (bring running gear to work)
Wednesday: listen to the radio for an hour, then class at the Buddhist Center
Thursday: yoga, then basketball game
Friday: run
Saturday: run, basketball game
Sunday: run

Additionally, the following things need to be done: laundry, pay bills, repost roommate ad, take recycling to the recycling taker place

Additionally, I'm expending considerable time and energy in making leaping and bounding assumptions about the mental, social, and romantic state of one brown-eyed baker.

Anyway, the January-May thing is starting up again and honestly I'm super happy about that. Running, races, exhaustion, soreness, it's so great. I did 3.1 miles on Saturday - a 5K! (I won) - and my stomach muscles are sore. Stomach muscles!

Questions: my life is not simple because I am not simple. If I narrowed my scope would I be happier? For example, one nameless lady concerns herself with the placement of paperclips and the laborious construction of ugly schedules (which would take me five minutes to create but take her hours). Were I to place undue import on the theory and practice of paperclipping, would these bigger issues - heartbreak, for example, and what-the-fuck-am-I-doing, for example - fall to the wayside? Another example, encountered at lunch: a loud jackass, talking loudly and jackassedly on his cellphone to some jackass back east about jackass things. Were I to become such a jackass expounding on things that don't matter to anyone else, would these bigger issues - sensitivity to what other people think of me, for example, and a reluctance to annoy people, for example - fall to the wayside?

He changed his profile picture. It's an expression I can't read. He hasn't shaved in a few days. Those cheeks, I can almost feel them. (He should unfriend me.)

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019