1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

won't you come by and see me, I'm a love-letter away
Sunday, Jan. 04, 2009 - 20:26

The tea I made - Candy Cane (it's actually a pretty good mint tea) - forgotten, now cold.

In 2006 my sister and I went to Costa Rica and she gave me The Poisonwood Bible by Barbara Kingsolver to read - but I never did. (Instead I read Everything Is Illuminated, loaned to me by that beautiful boy I was in love with, and Middlesex, which Kevin loaned to me, and A Confederacy of Dunces, which I stole from the library of a place where we stayed a few nights, and Ishmael, which I read at the terrible hippie commune out in the jungle which messed up my digestion forevermore - Ishmael, which I'd heard so much about, which was an inspiration for one of my favorite albums, was a letdown.) I picked up The Poisonwoood Bible yesterday to put in the get-rid-of box and decided to give it a chance.

In the Author's Note: "I spent nearly thirty years waiting for the wisdom and maturity to write this book."

For now, I will listen to songs over and over, and if that means tears are streaming down my cheeks and dripping off my nose and filling the creases of my lips, then that's the way it is. If in thirty years I haven't gotten off of my ass, please wake me up.

This morning as my womb was being scraped out with a spoon and I lay writhing and moaning in my bed, I decided to call in sick tomorrow. It's not fair for that to be happening on my own time! Tomorrow I will bake!

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019