1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

an autumn evening
Saturday, Sept. 27, 2008 - 21:04

Black silk dress, pearls, I look out my alley window. Boy, rolled-up blue jeans, sweater, taped-up glasses, running to my house.

I kept my eye on him all night, whether he knew it or not. Him, headphones, bouncing along to the music he was playing. Me, arms crossed, across the room, in the company of someone else.

Once, at one point, I was alone. The crowd parted, he began walking to me, but then a rival for my affections sidled up next to me. He stopped and changed course (in defeat?).

Not in defeat. I kept my eye on him all night. We showed up together, and he took me home.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019