1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

weekend, March
Saturday, Mar. 08, 2008 - 21:20

God. 3 in the afternoon today I'm already thinking what a long weekend it's been. Soon afterwards I get into bed with two magazines. I flip through them - Runner's World and something like Outdoor Adventure - and then fall asleep. It was a sunny afternoon - I'd been rearranging my living room.

I wake up, my phone is ringing. I bound into the dark living room looking for it - it's Saturday evening, I was taking a nap, oh yeah. It's my sister the cop. She's not breaking up with her boyfriend but they gave their puppy back to the person they got it from. She says I won't be able to sleep tonight because I took such a long nap.

I decide to go to the laundromat early tomorrow morning. I need to move to a bigger place, one with a washer and dryer - fitting the laundromat into my schedule has been difficult the last couple months.

For some contact with humanity I get on the internet, I see something written about Summerteeth by Wilco. I become wistful, I reread something I wrote a year ago - atmospheric longing for middle America and all that means to me. I should put in some Wilco - no I shouldn't. I briefly think about putting in all my Sonic Youth albums and listening to them in a row - but I have Neutral Milk Hotel ready, on pause, I just have to push Play. None of it is happening, I'm listening to the radio instead.

I'm tired, I'm thirsty, my lower calf was hurting again on the run this morning - what's this? My new injury for 2008? Stupid. I refuse to indulge this. I'm going to get new shoes, road shoes, fast bouncy road shoes - orange, hopefully.

All right, enough. I'll push Play, sing along with Jeff Mangum while I finish putting things away. If you're thirsty, get a glass of water - it's the simplest solution. Then get into bed before midnight and read more of the Benjamin Franklin biography - welcome back, Daylight Savings Time.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019