1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

rock and roll
Friday, Feb. 29, 2008 - 21:05

Today, Leap Day, a day of atonement that I could have used to make up for my shameful wasting of the extra hour when the clocks changed last fall. Did I use it wisely, did I make up for lost time? No. Instead what did I do? Fucking nothing - just went to work.

Tonight my plan has been to sit here and watch a movie and go to bed early, at least recapture some of that lost hour with sleep. But I'm squandering these minutes, doing unwise googling and listening to Sun Kil Moon - listening to "Carry Me Ohio" over and over even though I know it's impossible - the person you want to say those words never would. It's impossible - it's not written from the narrator's perspective, it's written from the audience's. The listener is the one saying the words because the narrator never would because he doesn't give a rat's ass - he even says that, but in reality he doesn't give enough of a rat's ass to say he doesn't give a rat's ass. Totally impossible, like the quests of John Donne.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019