1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Saturday, Jan. 05, 2008 - 14:02

1. The announcement for my dream job was finally posted - I don't have a B.A. in journalism but I'm such a goddamn genius they probably won't care about that. I might actually need a finely crafted cover letter for this, i.e. I probably need to work on it rather than just writing my usual stupid stuff: Hi I'm interested, okay.

1.a. A friend in Seattle found a job for me at her company - this would be an easy way for me to move back to Seattle, she said. It's an office manager position. I don't want to be an office manager and have no experience as such, but most importantly moving back to Seattle right now would not be peaceful for me emotionally. Just because my year of peace is over doesn't mean I don't want peace anymore. Every street I'd walk down I'd wonder if he'd be just around the corner - Seattle's a small town, it's inevitable that I'd eventually run into him and his vapid amazonian girlfriend. It's lame but it's true, and I don't want to live like that.

1.b. But besides, last night I was walking up Front Street and could almost believe that I was in Belltown, with the Crocodile just up the block. It was First Friday, I was making the rounds with a couple friends, we were looking for a pizza place. We went up the wrong street, and then went up the right street that could easily have been 24th in Ballard. My "Seattle" isn't necessarily in Seattle, maybe.

1.c. Maybe I'll move back someday and maybe it will be okay. Maybe I won't, maybe my memories of the place and occasional trips there will have to suffice.

2. It is a dark gray day. It was just pounding rain and the cloud covering up the top half of the mountain next to me was gray; now it is pounding down snow and the cloud on the hill has turned white.

3. Last night I got home, took a shower to clean the smoke out of my hair, baked the second half of the bread dough from Thursday (or Wednesday?), and then was about to go to bed when - outside, across the dark alley, someone was twirling fire. It scared the crap out of me - after midnight, dark and quiet, flames flying through the air and I live by myself in a small house in a dark alley. But it was the nice people across the alley - not the bitches next door to them - so it turned out to be okay. They were also trying to breathe fire - spitting out alcohol onto their torches, huge drops of flame shot out and onto the grass.

4. The last two nights being out and about downtown I've run into my representative on the city council many times.

5. I feel good after my yoga class, sore in just the right way in just the right spots. The running group doesn't start until next Saturday, hooray.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019