1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Unnecessarily long entry - the streams have thawed - not my streams, but real streams. I have no streams.
Tuesday, Dec. 04, 2007 - 15:28

Excellent news! I got insulation - not in the walls, just attic insulation, but hey. Unfortunately the weather has decided to be uncooperative - today it got up to 50 degrees - and how does that help me figure out if my insulation is doing anything or not? How? It doesn't.

The people who installed the insulation, man - it was two men and one woman, and I was watching the dynamics of it all and remembering my crap job doing "landscaping" where I was the only girl.

They made a terrific mess of my kitchen floor. This is what happens when you live in an alley and all the snow melts.

I just found out that the person whose job I want at the university has quit. The job opening isn't posted yet but when it is I'm on it, man. I want her job. She edits everything.

Also, I started another blahg today (my five millionth), this one for the consulting firm I'm starting with my friends from my first attempt at grad school - we're educated, have strong research, writing, and logic skillz, and are like totally smart. But with only an M.A. in this field (only the crazies ever actually get their Ph.D., everyone else quits) what can you do? (I admire the crazies who are able to actually get their Ph.D. and only call them 'crazies' because I am in awe. (Also, though, most of the ones who do finish are indeed crazy.))

I first thought about consulting when I saw how much the moron who is an independent consultant for the grant I work on gets paid. She bills herself out at $70 an hour and honestly, my god, she's terrible. I've already talked about this in a previous post.

Here's what I did last night after work: I fell asleep. I couldn't move. I was having like the third worst cramps ever, at work I got all shaky and sweaty and my expired acetaminophen wasn't doing anything and it was crappy. Additionally, I was losing pints of blood every minute. I went home, ate dinner, tried to read a book, and then was unable to move for like two hours. It was fun. I'm telling you because you care.

By the way I wholeheartedly recommend acupuncture and traditional Chinese medicine for lady problems. If I were able to pay for it right now I'd be doing it.

My jackass neighbor is out of the hemisphere! He will be gone two weeks.

My radio show is tomorrow! I am looking forward to it. Forward. I cannot preview my records, though, and this still causes me grief.

Radio station Christmas party this weekend! My sister will be in town. Maybe she will bring her cat, maybe she will let me borrow her cat until Christmas.

Radio show. DJ meeting tonight. Springlike weather. My drains sort of opened up. Insulation. Expensive chai. No neighbor. Job. Eh, Tuesday. Maybe I should find out about unemployment this week. Yes, I should.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019