1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Wednesday - also a bad day
Wednesday, Oct. 10, 2007 - 20:51

The week continues to be bizarre. A huge windstorm came in last night, a warm windstorm. I didn't turn on my heater, I didn't turn on my electric blanket, I didn't have nightmares about the impending doom of my live broadcast radio show, although I did dream about it.

I went to work and figured out things that had eluded me yesterday. Then. I went to the ballroom the radio station was broadcasting from. The DJ before me was happy to see me. "I'm so happy you're here," she said. "This is not relaxing like being in the studio," she said. "You have an ipod?" she said. No. I went to the studio and returned, laden with large stacks of CDs. I began my show. I hadn't brought many key CDs I'd wanted to bring. I couldn't hear, I couldn't hear myself, whenever I turned the mic on it boomed into the room and everyone turned around to look at me. So I turned the volume way down whenever I talked. I couldn't hear song transitions, I couldn't preview songs, I only had two CD players to work with.

It was fine, but look - some of the nightmares I've had about my radio show have been set in that VERY ROOM we were broadcasting from. Why? I have no idea. But it's true. I will probably have nightmares about it from now on.

But really, it went fine. I didn't mess up, I didn't have any dead air, I didn't mess up any transitions at all, really. It was actually probably my best show ever, but I'll never know because I didn't record it. I wish I had.

I stayed and talked to the next DJ for a goodly amount of time and that's always fun.

Then I went home and it was spitting and windy, and then there I was. I thought about tidying up but didn't, alas. Then my neighbor came over unexpectedly and I was ill-prepared for entertaining. He stayed for over an hour, and I was late getting downtown.

I was supposed to meet my professor/friend, whose paper I was supposed to have finished editing a long time ago. I was going to finish it in the hour before I was supposed to meet her, but my neighbor was over instead.

I was late, I didn't have the paper done, I am an asshole.

But she stayed even though her daughter was getting tired, and we talked, and I gave her the next few edited pages and also showed her the stuff from my class.

I haven't finished the first assignment and I haven't started the readings yet because I'm still so unsettled and had to write about everything first. Now I think I'm okay. This coffee shop closes in an hour and hopefully I'll have stopped being an asshole by then.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019