1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Tuesday, Sept. 18, 2007 - 20:04

I've shut my bedroom window and summer never happened. My feet are cold like they've always been (and one is broken). I'll get a cat before winter and the thought of that is all that's sustaining me these days. Sitting in the cold reading Wuthering Heights is not as appealing as sitting in the sun reading Pride and Prejudice. Last night I wanted to watch Pride and Prejudice again even though I just watched it last week, right? - I can't even remember. Back when it was warm and I didn't have to work, whenever that was.

I'd forgotten, but I resent the time that working takes away from me. I'm late on purpose, I take breaks whenever I want, I leave early - it's the way I worked at the law firm and no one gave a crap. But at the law firm, in addition to all that bad behavior, I wrote or talked all the rest of the time.

I'm not that bad, I exaggerate for effect. They get their money's worth out of me, but I resent it all. They use me for my brains and my skills, and what do I get? Not much. If I'd find a better job I wouldn't get so surly. Whose fault is this? Not mine, surely.

I got strange phone calls today, one about going for a hike tonight. I can't, my foot is still broken, maybe I shouldn't have run the race on Sunday. I am tired and cold and bored out of my gourd. Why did summer go so quickly? Come back, I've already forgotten how terrible you were.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019