1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Wednesday, Aug. 29, 2007 - 09:52

I woke up early, my throat was hot and dry.

My dream was that I was working again at the law firm but it was in a fancier building, the fanciest - big and white, large open foyer, bathroom attendants. It was the D.C. office, I guess, although I've never pictured it looking like that.

I was smoking a cigarette, walking through the white wide-open foyer. Our desks looked out onto it from the second floor. I saw you - I was about to go up to my desk but saw you up at yours. We looked at each other and your hair was turning gray. I walked away and you came down after me. I got tobacco in my mouth, my cigarette was backwards, my sister had lit it for me. I wanted to avoid you. I went into the bathroom, looked in the mirror. I woke up.

Somewhere, some random page in the internet, I just saw a link to the thing you told me about in the first email you ever wrote to me. I had to check to make sure, I had to reread that email from you. You wrote to me, I wrote back weeks later, you wrote back, I wrote back, you wrote back, I wrote back. We wrote other emails to each other during that time and I read some of them just now. You were home visiting your sister and parents, we were talking to each other on the phone at night, talking and laughing. You bought us tickets to Bumbershoot, I had tickets to Pearl Jam. We missed the acoustic set. I wrote about it all here.

I dropped you off at the airport and picked you up. You stayed at my house. You had a race, I drove you there, we camped that night, the next day I went swimming in the (freezing cold) river. You wouldn't swim and I thought you were scared.

You were covered in dried sweat. I kissed your chest.

That was two years ago and I still remember the details and I still occasionally have dreams about you. I realize how lame that is. I don't think about it a lot but when I do I do.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019