1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Goodbye July
Wednesday, Aug. 01, 2007 - 10:46

I forgot to announce that I would be going home for the weekend. Let me announce it here retroactively: I went home for the weekend.

We were out at the campout. Remember last year when I was there? Diving contests, sore muscles from swimming and bruises from climbing up on the dock? Very nice. Incomparably nice.

July is always a big month. In July of this year I: finished my stinking M.A., ran a half marathon, started thinking about starting a nonprofit, had a superfun 4th of July and went skinnydipping with superfun friends. No northern lights though.

Last year in July I: moved away from Seattle, had a broken heart (whatever that means), had many drinks with many friends. It was busy and ultimately good but also terribly heartbreaking. Whatever that means. But that's what it was.

In July of 2005 I: lived in Ballard! Had a huge crush on the cute boy at work! Started being friends with him! Ah, those were beautiful days. Wow, seriously.

In July of the year before that I: went on the worst date ever, had a, um, "devoted fan", got back in touch with someone I won't tell you about, had my high school reunion, went skinnydipping under the northern lights.

In July of 2003 I: had just moved back in with my parents, was working as a maid, was jumping off bridges, was not eating a whole lot. I guess nothing particularly noteworthy happened this month, but it was the middle of a fantastic(ly difficult but fantastic nonetheless) summer.

July 2002? I don't remember. I think we went to Scotland. It was before my Big Change and I have a hard time remember things from that part of my life. (Very odd. I always remember everything. Ask me anything about first grade, I'll talk to you about it for hours. But my life as a young 20-something? Nope.) Scotland was beautiful, whenever it was that we went there.

Last night/this morning I did a graveyard shift at the radio station. Coming home at 6 this morning I could feel it in the air: fall. It always happens at the beginning of August, you can feel it in the mornings, suddenly. Was it there yesterday morning? I don't think so.

The smoke from the fires to the east was very pretty at 6, very daintily peeking over the hills, trails of brown and pink. Now it is spilling over the hills, a big white mass, no longer pretty, no longer dainty, just stinky. My windows are closed now. I just woke up. Hello August.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019