1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

It's July 15
Sunday, Jul. 15, 2007 - 18:28

Not that I'm really an athlete or anything, but it's interesting: after a certain amount of physical exertion you begin to view your body more as a machine than as any kind of personal extension of yourself (which, when you're feeling overweight, you [or at least I] do - they're one in the same, your body is you, and you suck). A few minutes ago I got up to walk to the bathroom and put my hands on my hips, feeling the mechanics of it all, my hipbones and all the various joint-related things moving. I had the same thoughts the summer I was "landscaping", when I got real live muscles in my arms from days of digging or raking or moving sand. My body was a machine, an earth-mover, the living equivalent of a front end loader or similar large yellow thing.

So I ran a half marathon today. Half marathons are awesome! I'm sure the next logical step would be to decide to do a full marathon, but I still have no desire to do one. The half is far enough, thanks.

The only victim of the day was my boob - this time the other one, rubbed raw by the seam of my old sports bra. Next race no bra, I guess this means.

I discovered the value of a running partner.

People who run are crazy.

Dear Rain Gods: please, come. Thank you.

Dear cute boy who was sitting next to me talking to me about running: bastard! Why did you leave?

Dear coffee shop music system: Wilco now? Why? You want to kill me? Hey, I played this on my radio show a few weeks ago. Still, coffee shop music system, don't indulge my masochistic tendencies, and stick to the jazzy female vocalists like you ought.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019