1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Late-breaking news!!!: the return of the writing contest, etc.
Friday, May. 04, 2007 - 13:37

May: a boy-free month. This started three years ago because I am too sensitive. I was all sad/happy/sad because of boys. So screw them, I decided. Screw them for a month.

Someone said, in order to get over something, it's helpful to set goals for yourself. Something not impossible to attain. A certain score in a video game, for example.

My goal for that first boy-free May was to write a story, any story, a very short story, just as long as it was complete. I don't think I managed to do it until the end of June, but I did it.

This year I'm not trying to get over anyone (more or less) (this point could be debated but let's not) and I'm boy-free anyway, but tradition dies hard and I'm celebrating May anyway.

Which leads us to the first Exciting Writing Contest in a very long time. Years, probably. This month, we - if you choose to participate, and you should - are going to write something. Something very short (or whatever).

The rules:

1. Go listen to "Postcards from Italy" by Beirut (this is a requirement!). Optional: listen to other songs by Beirut.

2. Write a story with yourself as the main character. You may use a pseudonym if you wish. However, you must be the main character. I will be able to tell if it's not you! Also, this story should be fiction. I will be able to tell if it's nonfiction, so don't even try that! Also, the soundtrack to this story is "Postcards from Italy" by Beirut, obviously. For added ambience additional songs in the soundtrack could be the other optional Beirut songs. These songs do not need to be mentioned in the story. In fact, they shouldn't be mentioned, they're just setting the tone. The mood. The place. If you're listening to other songs while writing I will be able to tell! Don't try it! Don't be listening to Megadeath or Fergie for fuck's sake! Beirut! You (with optional pseudonym)! Fiction! Understand? Good.

3. Deadline: May 31, here.

4. Do you know what I'm talking about? I want us to view our lives and ourselves from a distance. Put ourselves in a different setting etc. etc. etc. How long should it be? What should it be about? I don't know and I don't care.

5. You do not have to be boy-free to participate.

6. This is a writing exercise.

7. It is not serious or intimidating so don't use that as an excuse not to participate.

8. There will be no prizes involved, probably. Or MAYBE THERE WILL BE.

9. This is supposed to be fun, so do it.

Do it.

p.s. Please note: I made no reference to May being National Masturbation Month. Obviously I am becoming ever more mature.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019