1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Tuesday, the last one in April
Tuesday, Apr. 24, 2007 - 21:49

I go to school. I leave my house five minutes before I'm supposed to be there. Tuesday is garbage day, is my excuse, and I'm always late.

Weekly meeting with adviser re: thesis. It's nearing the end. He's retiring after this, he's the reason I came back here, he's been an influence in my life way beyond school. Suffice it to say, these are days I'll look back on fondly. Suffice it to say, I shouldn't be late to our meetings.

I'm feeling buried by data. I have so much data now and I'm so bad with organization and there are so many things I'd like to figure out if I only had a few more years. I have to stop myself, though: it's only a thesis.

But there's so much more to figure out! If only I had a few more years.

Class, bah. I come home. It's warm, it's light late, I go running again. After trying/pretending to run in the cold, with running pants and long-sleeved shirts, imagine your first runs of the year in shorts and t-shirts. Nice. So unfettered.

I set my watch to 8:30 increments, which I figure is about how long it takes me to run a mile. I'm out for five increments, which does not mean I've run five miles, it means I've been out for five increments.

I run much better than last night. Breathing through my nose, not sucking it through my mouth. This is what training is for.

Home, shower, dinner, Gatorade. What to do in class tomorrow? What to play on my radio show? A friend is swinging through town on Thursday and I should clean the place. But I spend time laboriously composing an email to an old friend. I save a draft, abandon it, work some more. Why so odd? Why so difficult? I don't know.

I put in Bright Eyes - when I got this new CD and heard his voice I thought, hmm, like hearing an old friend.

I'll do the dishes, I'll sit here and think, I'll go to bed after midnight. Tomorrow will be tomorrow. Weeks go by, the semester will be over before we know it, and that's that.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019