1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Friday. Triumphs, tragedies. Will power.
2007-03-23 - 14:56

We seem to have recovered from our personal and private major setback of last week but ten minutes ago we were unable to resist eating not one or two but three Dove chocolates. It would have behooved us to have remained dairy-free in action as well as word for at least a couple more days and to have thus enjoyed our recent progress on the personal and private front; however, chocolate. They were delicious. We do not know how this is going to pan out - the chocolates were intended for my 13 students who aren't as gluttonous as they should be, and so we are left with half a bag.

Excitement in the form of Things To Do In The Evenings: a movie tonight (free!), a show tomorrow night (music!), and a movie on Sunday night (not free!). And, also, last night our regular Thursday-night drink/dine actually happened. I had a margarita and chips and salsa and a salad.

Pains-in-the-ass, obnoxious-style: The guy working on my bathroom - I leave a key for him in my little alley-side room so he can get in when I'm not at home - came yesterday at fucking 9 in the morning! I was having personal and private time in the bathroom when he came. Fortunately I latch the outer screen door at night and hadn't unlatched it yet, it being early early morning, so he couldn't get in. He knocked and he cursed me - I could hear him. The fucker didn't even call! And it was 9 in the morning! And I'm a student! And he usually comes at night anyway. So he had to go away. He left me a message last night - could I please leave the screen door unlatched so he can get in. I left him a message in response - I latch it at night and if you're going to come early tomorrow morning it'll be latched again.

In addition, he didn't finish college and is one of those types who can't let that go. He's always talking about it - one class he took he had to give a presentation in. Wow. He told me about it. He's interested in what I'm studying. Blah blah blah. He's read books. Etc. I suppose I should be more grateful that I do have an education because some of the people who don't are so hung up on it, but I've never thought about my education as a noun like that, having "an education". It's more like, I've gone to school for years and years and what good is it to me really? I don't know. Etc.

Anyway I'm going to do some recreational reading right now and I have a half bag of chocolates next to me and I bet it wouldn't even be a problem if I ate more of them. Me? I feel fine! Chocolate is good for you! Chocolate is good for me.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019