1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Phone
Sunday, Feb. 25, 2007 - 17:10

I resisted cell phones for a long time (they are obnoxious and they suck) but I caved two years ago because I was moving all over Seattle and having crazy roommates and a cell phone just made sense. And only $10 a month to join the plan my sister and parents are on.

It was 2005. I was living in Ballard. I got a box in the mail - my new cell phone - and I was excited.

Two thousand five hundred and fifty-three calls, 174 hours 41 minutes and 32 seconds later, the end has come for my LG-VX3200 with its supercool martini-glass and umbrella wallpapers, its Sex-and-the-Cityish ringtone, its tip calculator.

Old phone, you were so much more to me than just a phone. You know this. You were there for it all.

...

On the notepad:

A pair of rocks sells on ebb but a pair of rocks worn by elvis sells better on ebb.

Bisexual sheepfucker

The freshmen are sucking up all of the bandwidth on campus and so nothing will work.

East side far right let blue call rose's bell phone.

We just don't see eye to eye. Our views of theater are very very very different.

The big nude is broken and so is my heart. Muff.

...

Text messages... I won't type them all in. There's one from someone I never mention here, the last thing I'll probably ever hear from him, and it's kind of heartbreaking.

There's one from a friend the night of my last day at work: Hope your afterwork bon voyage party was fun. I will miss you but I have got a good feeling about your path ahead. How does that song go... Let go into the mystery. You have many wonders and mystery ahead. All mostly good I am sure.

One from someone I don't know: Will you tell warren that im not eating anyone but i do in to the bars with friends.

And the only one I saved from my old friend the cute boy at work, the last one I got from him, sent May 25, 9:23 a.m.: Shazam!

...

Now it's 2007. My new phone is a red KRZR. It's the newest thing in the world.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019