1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Tuesday, Nov. 14, 2006 - 23:38

Rob Brezsny either feeds my idiotic delusions or gives me much-needed support on my road to Where It Is I Am Going and although I am and have been inclined to view it one way, it might be the other. Regardless:

PISCES (Feb. 19-March 20): A cat doesn't usually catch a mouse on its first pounce. On average, the kill takes three pounces. I hope this fun fact inspires you to avoid the temptation to prematurely retire from your hunt. It's true that the treasure you're pursuing has eluded you beyond the time you thought you would have gotten it. It's also true that the frustration you're feeling threatens to dilute the intense concentration you need to complete the quest. But now that you've read my exhortation, maybe you'll see that you're closer to capturing the prize than you realize; maybe you'll marshal your energy and prime yourself to pounce as many more times as it'll take.

Gah. Last night I dreamed about my friend I call Jacquie and maybe also her husband and maybe a haunted house and maybe some carob chips on my stomach - nothing particularly noteworthy, only vaguely strange. And the only other dream that I really remember from the last week had my old friend and I gazing fondly at each other - no plot, not vivid, it just was. So unless I will have some vivid meaningful dream tonight last week's column won't have meant anything. Although I always think Rob Brezsny's things apply for longer than just the week, they apply to this phase. But maybe that's more of my delusion talking.

If I am supposed to pounce does that mean I should or shouldn't keep on doing what I've been doing? I'm not going to pounce anyway, that's not what I want. I'm not trying to catch anything, I'm trying to meet something halfway. Okay, I know, I'll lighten up, he says it's a fun fact, basically he's just repeating the line about not putting a period where the Fates have put a comma, blah blah blah.

Fine.

Now it's bed time. I have a lot of shit to do these days. Daydreaming during class isn't the best thing to be doing at this point in the semester - twice this afternoon I got caught: "What is it like in German?" "Uh, what is what like in German?"... "What was it like in the Ancrene Wisse?" "Uh, what was what like in the Ancrene Wisse?" It was lame. But I couldn't help myself. At least I wasn't shaking anymore.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019