1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

all about my feet
Monday, Nov. 06, 2006 - 21:21

The power of suggestion, my old roommate said, was why he didn't like astrology. The girl and I agreed, then ignored him and talked and talked to each other about our Pisces selves.

I read a book in Australia, it said that Pisceses are prone to foot ailments. I laughed and laughed, being a 27-year-old perfect-footed individual. But I wondered...

Today I hobbled to school because two of my toes - TOES - are killing me. Why? Who the hell knows. My toenails hurt, they hurt so much they make me hobble. This is on my left foot, the foot which prior to this week had been the good one. My other foot has been not fine and not dandy since I dropped a board or two on it a couple years ago at my "landscaping" job. I did get it x-rayed a few months after that but nothing seemed amiss. But it continued to hurt and finally a few months ago it hurt so limpingly bad that I went to the podiatrist, where, in addition to getting a bone scan and a couple cortisone shots and spending a couple hundred dollars that my insurance wouldn't cover, I found out I have bunions - BUNIONS - LIKE MY MOTHER. In addition to having this mysterious ouch in one of the joints in the top of my foot, an ouch that is aggravated by bad weather.

This evening I am wearing new socks, blue with a yellow flower at the ankle, and functional ribbed support on the foot. They are totally cute socks. I bought three new pairs of socks - expensive socks - I spent like $35 on three stupid pairs of socks - but I am going to throw out my old dumb socks with the holes in the toes and I am hoping that my bionic toenails do not slice through these new socks. If they do I will be mad.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019