1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Begin the boring. (Ah life.)
Sunday, Aug. 27, 2006 - 20:52

I just spent a freaking boring one hour twenty-one minutes and forty seconds on the phone with Dell trying to fix my wonked up wireless connection and it turns out the stupid update I downloaded a few weeks ago was corrupt and I had to redownload it and install it and that was all and there was really nothing to it but I had to sit on the phone for a long time. I could have or should have redownloaded it myself but I didn't figure that out.

And so that was my evening.

School starts tomorrow, I teach my first class ever tomorrow, I should be nervous but I'm pretending it doesn't really matter. It doesn't, really, because they'll learn English anyway. I'm kind of worried about what to wear, though, and how to hide sweaty armpits when you're writing on the board.

I don't have a syllabus but eh, I'll give it to them Wednesday. Or Friday. I don't exactly know what I'm supposed to do but eh, it's the first day and no one really cares. I have notecards I'll have them fill out: name, email, TOEFL score, major, how many credits they're taking, and, um, favorite band. It will be their favorite class and I'll be their favorite teacher. Here's what I'll say: Hi, um, uh, well I hope we can have some fun this semester and uh, I hope we learn a lot, uh. Uh so uh I'll give you a syllabus Wednesday or Friday, uh, after I've figured out what we're going to do this semester okay? And I don't know my office hours yet but I'll tell you when I decide them, okay? Uh, okay, uh, so uh please fill out these cards, okay?

I should go for a bike ride right now. I'm tired even though I stayed in bed until 11 this morning. I still have a lot of organizing to do. But all I really want to do is read Harry Potter.

It's going to be in the 90s tomorrow which means I have to wear a skirt which means I can't ride my bike which means I have to leave here by 8:30 which means I have to get up before 8:00 which means I should get everything ready to go tonight.

Etc. etc. etc.

Please be prepared to read crap like this for the next uh eight months and I apologize in advance for that.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019