1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

we're back to capitals
Wednesday, Aug. 23, 2006 - 21:20

A flash of brilliance hit me as I was out walking this evening: I could get up EARLY tomorrow to go JOGGING, oh em gee. I haven't been jogging in a long time, a couple weeks at least, probably more. I've thought about it a couple times in recent days but it has been my personal and private time of the month and that is not terribly conducive to jogging in air that is 95 degrees and smoke infused, regardless of whether it's by a river or not.

HOWEVER, TOMORROW if I get up EARLY it won't be 90 degrees and maybe it won't be so smokey.

HOWEVER, I don't like to get out of bed early. But that's what they make alarm clocks for and I have four of those mothers.

Again I will say: there are cute boys all over the place here. This is just to remind myself. There are cute boys all over the place. I would like to say a nice big Screw You to the Fates in the form of Rob Brezsny, who said in my horoscope this week that I should "exercise extreme discrimination". Damn it, that's what I've been doing my whole life. I will never have a fling, I will die flingless. I WILL DIE FLINGLESS. UNFLUNG.

I saw another old professor today, my favorite German professor. Come see me, he said, we'll get lunch. Meanwhile everyone who walks by him has conversations with him because he knows everyone, remembers everything. I saw him in Seattle at an alumni event I went to, he raises money for the university, goes around schmucking it up all over the globe. I said, I haven't been to Europe since, ehh, 1998. We'll have to get you back there, he said.

I can't help but wonder where I'll be wanting to be a year from now. I will be done with this degree then. Will I go back to Seattle? Will I stay here? Or will I go back to my hometown? Maybe I'll be ready for that, I've been thinking about that lately. Home, I could move back home, and I miss my dad.

But we'll see. And first I have to get through this year. And tomorrow I sign up for classes. And the day after that I find out what class I'll be teaching this semester. And then I'll spend the weekend freaking out about it.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019