1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

And now Sleater-Kinney is on KEXP. THIS IS MY LIFE TODAY.
Tuesday, Sept. 06, 2005 - 21:06

Today was such an odd day and now I will tell you all about it in excruciatingly annoying detail.

So first of all I woke up and there was a song playing at me and I was like "Who is playing a song at me? Why are they playing it? What's going on?" and I listened, asleep, for a couple minutes before realizing that it was my alarm going off. Time to get up.

And then I couldn't remember what I wear to work and had to do an emergency last-minute wardrobe change.

And then I couldn't remember when my bus comes in the morning, because not only had I not been to work in 10 days but prior to that my life had been suddenly changed around and I was spending multitudinous nights in the company of my friend the cute boy from work and so my singly solitary schedule had not been put into practice in a few weeks.

And then I got onto the bus at the correct time, clothed, and I read my long stupid book and FINALLY Isabel's cousin dies HOORAY and yes actually it was kind of sad but anyway we got into the city and I got off at the correct stop and walked to the correct building and was able to find my ID badge in my bag where I'd left it oh so long ago and I got to the right floor and the right desk and sat down right next to the cute boy, who was already there. He took out his headphones and turned around and said Hello. How are you? How was your night?

So it was very weird being back at work because everything was exactly the same and I hadn't been there in a long time.

Then I listened to my voicemail and I had gotten the weirdest message ever. So, pretend my name is Regina Toowomba, and pretend it's not a terribly common name, okay? So I get this voicemail that goes, "Hello Dr. Regina Toowomba, this is Dr. Blahblah Blah from the University of Washington Surgical Something and I'm calling about your patient Someone Something. She's being discharged tomorrow but her Somethings were up high today and so Dr. Some One didn't want to do Something so could you take out the drain?" So APPARENTLY I AM A DOCTOR. A surgeon, no less. And I have no idea if my patient ever got her drain removed, because I certainly don't remember doing it myself. So I googled myself to see if I could find anything out about myself, and I changed the spelling, right, to, like, Rejina Toowomba, right, and there are MORE MES THAN I EVER THOUGHT POSSIBLE and this is so much more insulting than mes who spell it right.

So that was weird.

So then I couldn't remember exactly what I do all day at work, so I sat there for a couple hours doing nothing.

Then I checked my email and had to read one message over a couple times and then the cute boy walked by and I told him that I'd just gotten the BEST EMAIL EVER and that I had to take a break and then he said I was glowing and had a permagrin. Then I calmed down. Then we talked. Then I was able to focus and I did some more "work".

Then blah blah blah I went to lunch. Then blah blah blah I went back to work. Then the cute boy decided to go on break and asked if I wanted to go with him and I said "Hellz yeah dude!" or intimated the same and I went down with him and he got a drink and I got fresh-baked cookies three for a dollar and we went outside and sat there and ate warm cookies and talked.

Then blah blah blah we left and walked to his neighborhood and went by the Seattle Center to see if they'd found my key that I dropped on the fucking bathroom floor last night and they had! Then we went to his place and had pie. Then we parted ways and he went to pick up his dad at the airport. Then I got on a bus and there was terrible traffic, just terrible, cars everywhere you looked and I have no idea why. Then I went to the store for I swear the first time in three weeks and bought food. And I ate some of that food.

Right now I have a green mask on my face, I am tired, I've eaten dinner, my phone needs recharging but no one but the cute boy calls me anymore (bastard family members, what's their problem!) so I'm not going to charge it. I have ten pages left in that terrible book, which I will read tonight, and then tomorrow: Harry Potter and the world.

BUT FIRST: We saw Kinski last night at Bumbershoot and I am telling you, people, Kinski is ... there are no words. KINSKI.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019