1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Thursday, May 8
Thursday, May. 08, 2014 - 22:07

Somewhat frustrating day in that it seems that my interim appointment most certainly will not be ending next Friday like it was supposed to. So. I suppose they'll continue to pay me these gobs of money, but man, I do not want to be doing this.

Got a great email out of the blue this week, though, which may mean a foray back into the world of linguistics. I've been looking at my thesis files today and getting sucked back into interlinearization. Data! Patterns! I have no idea how to use the software anymore! I will have to relearn! This tribe has been in touch before about possibly writing me into a grant and things have just never worked out. Someone contacted me last year, it went into my junk mail, I found it a few months ago and responded apologetically, they asked for my CV, and I neglected to respond to that because my CV hasn't been updated in... three years, maybe. So anyway. Who ever would have thought that linguistics would be a refreshing escape from reality? God, I've sunk so low.

Also: the fancy brownish nail polish I got is not taupe but rather PURPLE. I have so much purple nail polish. I wanted a flipping taupe. What do you have to do around here to get nail polish that isn't purple! So, clearly I cannot quit Julep this month.

I slept all night long last night, got woken up by my alarm. The birds did not wake me up, the sun did not wake me up, the neighborhood yahoos did not wake me up. Nothing woke me up but my alarm. I'm really tired. I really don't want to be doing this job anymore.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019