1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

An entry in which I talk about another show I went to, my problems with modern society, my digital addictions, and all the things I hate.
Sunday, May. 08, 2005 - 11:47

And then on Friday I saw Shawn Smith and Carrie Akre.

Here is a letter from me to aspiring singer-songwriters:

Dear aspiring singer-songwriters,

Perhaps you have a lovely voice and can play the guitar, but if you can't write good lyrics, please just stick to cover songs, no matter how terribly earnest you are. In fact, the earnester you are, the more dire the need to stick to cover songs. Thank you.

Love,
Regina Toowomba

Yes, I hate saying it, but I was not terribly impressed with the opener guy, I'm sorry! I know he meant well, but, I mean, I can't write poetry and I know that and yes I just spent a month inflicting my painful poettes on you and I apologize but I'm not sitting here thinking, I'm a poet, maybe I should publish.

(Although I must admit that there were a couple poettes I wrote that I'm rather fond of. In fact, I totally love the one about the sexy Kathys, maybe there's an open mic night around here that I can read at? Ha, I'm kidding, and you believed me! No, I'm not kidding about the sexy Kathy poette, that one is really good.)

My point being, there are so many songs in the world, and we don't need any more crappy ones! There are excellent songs that have been written, just sing those and don't inflict your earnest terribleness on me! Do some Bob Dylan covers!

(Actually, I think, the biggest problem with this guy was that he wasn't earnest, he was just pretending to be. He was fakely earnest, he was only pretending to be sincere and you could tell. Plus, his songs were boring.)

Then Carrie Akre came on and she was good. And this girl came up to sing a song with her, and then the next day I was at a music store listening to a CD and I looked at the wall in front of me and there was that girl on a poster looking at me! Mostly I recognized her hair, but the rest of her was her too.

Attention girls: What is with the big chunky blonde streaks? That's not even close to sun-streaked hair, that's not how natural highlights look. Is that what we're supposed to pretend they look like? Please answer, thank you.

Carrie Akre = good. Then Shawn Smith came on. Oh! I forgot to say, I met a girl who was also there alone and she was nice, she got a pig for Mother's Day, she loves Shawn Smith.

A boy came over and said to her something like, I wanted to congratulate you on your shoes, they're really nice, so, congratulations. I'm just here by myself from Bellingham, so I'd like to buy you a drink or something.

Then Shawn Smith came on. He had on a hat, and some shoes. He played the piano. He opened with Crown of Thorns. He closed with Crown of Thorns too.

There was a heckler! It was this guy right in the front waving his arms around like an asshole, trying to distract Shawn. If I ever see him again I'll beat him up, it was annoying.

Shawn Smith has a beautiful voice. There's a new Brad album out now. I don't have it yet, but I might go get it, I like Brad.

Here's a letter I wrote to myself:

Dear Kelsi,

   You cannot buy any more CDs this month. Please stop. Thank you.

Love,
Regina Toowomba

I don't know when I got home, probably like 1:11 again. And then I woke up bright-eyed and bushy-headed at 9:30 and I did stuff, and I was walking to town and got all tired, then I stayed up very late playing the Sims.

Um, apparently I'm avoiding my writing assignments. I can't write for any audience besides you, my imaginary e-audience! So I think I might have to pretend it's a Dairyland entry, maybe I'll do it as an entry tonight, I hate writing, I hate fiction, I hate many many things, I hate everything!

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019