1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Um, oh this morning I cut some roses to put in my room, they smell nice. My titles should be more descriptive, it makes finding things much easier. Today I write about Australians in Ballard.
Thursday, May. 05, 2005 - 18:38

Bandlove of the week: The Lucksmiths. They are Australian, they are from Melbourne.

Like I said I was caught unawares by an unknown upcoming show yesterday and even though I didn't want to I went to it. I didn't know what time it started. I hoped, it being a Wednesday night and there being three bands, that it would start at 8, 8:30, even 9, but NOOOOOOO, it started at 9:30.

Math & Physics Club = good, Tullycraft = good. I decided to just stay for the first few songs of the Lucksmiths's set, since I got my $10 worth out of the first two bands, but wouldn't you know, they were excellent! I couldn't leave! When it was finally all over there were no more buses so I had to walk home. That was fine -- I saw a possum, I got the stink blowed off me (an old family saying that is perfectly applicable here), my head got a chance to quiet down, it was a lovely night. I got into bed at like 1:11 and slept like a drunk angel and was woken up not six hours later by my rude alarm clock.

Australians are hilarious! Just look at Scotty, I love them, they must have compulsory comedy classes in Australian schools -- they are all hilarious, I dare you to find a bland Australian. (Don't do it! It's a fruitless quest and you will only waste your time! And there's so little time and so many other things to do! Like play the Sims, and take a nap!)

The singer of the Lucksmiths is the drummer and he stands up center stage hitting his drums and singing songs written by his bandmates -- he has a lovely voice and girls and gay men probably love him - he is a cut dresser (I totally made that term up) and has nice arms and hair that flips up in a little messy curl at the top.

His arms were really nice.

The drums, although they were three feet away from me, weren't deafening - he used brushes and a big... thing - but not wimpy brushes, I mean, it was totally nice.

Then, suddenly, from nowhere at all, out comes the weirdest person I've ever seen in my entire life, out to play the trumpet. Was he high? Was he trying to be weird? Or was he really crazy? We will never know, we don't want to know.

Australians are so witty and hilarious. People are always shouting out requests because they are morons, you know, and someone shouted out "Aviation!" and they were like, "You have passionate hobbies mate" and everyone laughed and laughed. "Stamp collecting!" "Quiet walks on the beach!"

I loved them! They're in Chicago tonight.

(Apparently I'm more impressed with them today than I was last night. I mean, it was good, I was pleased as I walked home through quiet lovely post-midnight Ballard, but I wasn't thinking, I loved them! I was, however, thinking how hilarious they were, because that's really true. So maybe I'm exaggerating a little today. That would be really out of character, though, that can't be it.)

****************************************

Today I celebrated Cinco de Mayo by eating a chicken enchilada and when I asked the lord to bless it I said Ol�! instead of Amen. Oh look! There's a fat man taking a nap! Everywhere you go there are fat men taking naps. Much of what I just wrote is untrue. Much but not all.

On the agenda for tonight: Take off my clothes and get into bed.

Tempting me right now: Those unholy Sims bastards.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019