1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

This is how my day went, italics, html characters, I had a fish taco for dinner, I post no poettes today, there's a bird nest right outside the window in here, it is spring.
Monday, Apr. 18, 2005 - 20:47

Written at work:

1. I'm wearing a clammy shirt.

2. I finished Franny and Zooey, finally. He eventually did get out of the fucking bathroom, but then he just went into the living room and stayed there for an odious number of pages, and then he went to his older brothers's room and was in there until the end of the stinking book. Nothing ever happened, no one ever paid any attention to what anyone else said, they were all smoking throughout the entire book and I had to read about the details of every single cigarette. It was odious. Dear J.D. Salinger - So you like to write about young people with dead siblings in the middle of breakdowns, I get it, never do it again, thank you.

3. My new favorite word is: odious.

4. I need to get some hipster earplugs. Concerts are loud. I have earplugs, but not hipster earplugs. What? Did you say something?

5. My truck has a serious leak. Passenger side floor - there were rubber duckies swimming around in it this morning.

6. I rearranged my room, it is delicious, but I woke up twice in the night and then went to sleep but didn't know it so I thought I was awake and you know how that sucks.

7. I've done editing, librarianing, grad studenting, housekeeping, landscaping, law clerking. What should I do next? I am serious. All reasonable suggestions will be considered. Unreasonable suggestions include: mercenary, clown, lawyer.

8. I smell so good, mmm.

9. I earn, eh, 23¢ a minute, like every four and a half minutes I earn a dollar. I wonder how much I've earned in the bathroom. Really, I've been there three months.

10. The bus driver on the late morning express bus just always has the most fabulous hair. I don't usually ride her bus, but when I do, it's notable.

11. I was just going to write: okay, back to work - but now KEXP is playing Silent Sigh by Badly Drawn Boy - right now I wish I had my About A Boy record here so I could pet it. I ♥ that record. ! I ♥ it. I ♥ this song.

12. My poor left ear, I fear it's been damaged.

13. There's so much to write, I wish I could write all day. Maybe I'll go back to school. = sign of desperation and insanity. I need a new job people!

14. Kay.

15. I don't like brownies. I don't like brownies!

16. Last week one day I went across the street for candy. I decided against getting Sugar Babies but I keep forgetting that. Fucking Mentos and Bit-O-Honey! I want Sugar Babies!

17. If you can manage to save some money, dear, i.e. not spend it all on CDs, even used ones, because those add up too asshole, perhaps later this year - on a freighter, you to Australia, three weeks, and then three months in Australia - a few weeks at the farm, most of the rest in Brisbane? I need to find a place to stay in Brisbane. Anyone know anyone there? A relative maybe, with a room they want to rent out?

18. But, maybe, my favorite band in the world might be going to Europe, or South America. I haven't been to Europe in a while, and I've never been to South America, maybe I should do that. Or even just a U.S. tour. Road trip!

19. Gas is supposed to get to $3 a gallon this summer. My truck is a small one, and we can sleep in the back, but it's a V8, and it leaks. Who wants to go on a road trip with me? Contingent, of course, upon an actual tour. The one so far is just in my head, like most things.

20. But Australia! On a freighter! I need to do that! So does my typewriter!

21. I'll do both! Road trip, Australia. I'll find a road trip participant or two, and maybe a different car, and I'll find someone's kind Brisbane grandma with a lovely extra bedroom for me.

Addenda, written right now:

22. In line last night behind me, two Capitol Hill hipsters: a girl with crooked hair, a guy. A guy the girl knew was on the guestlist but couldn't make it, so he was going to change his name to hers, but she had already bought tickets. So she had tickets but could also get in for free, got it? The guy she was with said, you can sell your tickets. The girl said, yeah, but it's not sold out. The guy said, but you could sell them to someone in line who wants to buy a ticket. The girl said, yeah, but they're cheaper at the door than what I paid them. The guy said, but you could just ask what they're charging at the door. The girl said, but why would they buy from me when they can still get tickets at the door? The guy said, someone in line might want tickets and they could just buy them from you. The girl said, but it's not sold out. The guy said, I know, but you could still sell yours to someone. The girl said, but it costs less to get them at the door. The guy said, you could just ask what they're charging at the door. The girl said, but it's not sold out. The guy said, etc.

23. The Wedding Present was really good! There was also an opening band... and today after work I went to an in-store at Sonic Boom... but the Wedding Present was really good!

24. I bought a pretty little used CD, even though I'm saving up to take a freighter to Australia.

25. The windows in my truck are down to air the joint out a little as it was a lovely lovely afternoon, it is now late dusk, I need to go roll them up.

26. I wrote a poette one day about clip-cloppy high heels, I was going to post it for Whisper, it's lost, I can't!

27. I also wrote a poette about a gray lady, I will post it, along with many other wonderful poettes, at a later date.

28. I should go to bed early tonight. It would be smart, it would behoove me.

29. Behoove is an old favorite word of mine.

30. Tired.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019