1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

A sad poette; ruminations on a day; my disapointment with other people's ability to loose themselves of the social chains that bind them to the cages of shallowness and artifical goals.
Wednesday, Apr. 13, 2005 - 19:37

You know this entire month all I'm going to be talking about is poems. It's totally tedious, but that's the way it's going to be whether I like it or not because I promised to write a poem every day and then once I get typing it out everything else that was in my head won't come out.

Like today I was at work talking to this girl - and I really like this girl, she's fun and funny and smart - but she's insidiously belittling. Remember when I said I was a fish out of water (or did I say that here)? She's the one that makes me feel that way, mostly. Along with a bunch of other people, but she's the one that gets to me - the others, what the fuck do I care about them. But this girl is too smart to be such a shallow judgmental twit, and it disappoints me that she is. But she is, and that gets to me. And so I'm a fish out of water.

I would've written about that today and it would have been really great, but I have to type a poette instead. See how it goes?

To You, Ironman
Cold and wet alone you lay
Fallen on a field of play
Nearly trampled, squashed and ate
Bravely, faithfully did you wait
And you were saved, your life was bright
With tiny beeps and meager light
We came together, a timely tryst
Inseparable, attached at the wrist
The best of friends, we roamed the globe
Cross Europe many tales are told
Australia, Scotland, Mexico
The USA - away we'd go
But you grew old, your beeps gave out
Still, to me, your word had clout
But then one day after a trip
I took you off, I lost my grip
I kept you on Australia time
And left you in that room of mine
And faithfully you kept the count
Occasionally you'd help me out
And then last week you up and died
A wail was heard - the whole world cried
A day after that, I couldn't wait
I got a new one, it's really great
A yellow button, Indiglo
With my new watch away I go


previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019