1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Exciting Spring Writing Contest! Rules and requirements!
Sunday, Mar. 06, 2005 - 16:25

ANNOUNCING THE EXCITING SPRING WRITING CONTEST

Hooray.

Requirements

  1. You will be required to do as I say.

  2. You will be required to write something (details below), either in your diary or in an email or in my comments or something, whatever, somewhere so I can read it, and then you have to tell me, either in a comment, or a note, or a guestbook entry, or an email (k e l s i @ webmail dot diaryland dot com). Otherwise I won't know that you've entered and you'll get all pissy and hurt but it's not really my fault, is it?

  3. You are required to have access to a tape player.

  4. If chosen as a winner, you will have to email your mailing address to me.

  5. You might have to answer some questions about your music preferences and interests.

  6. You might have to wait a while for your prize to come.

Prizes
The winner will receive a prize, maybe even two prizes! Maybe everyone who enters will win, but maybe not. I mean, if hundreds of people enter, you know, how can I deal with that? Luckily for me, though, the ONLY PERSON who entered the last writing contest was ME, so I'll probably be the only person who enters this one as well, which will save me money on postage.

Entries
You have to write something for ten minutes. Fiction, or partially non-fiction, but something, and you can only think about it for one minute beforehand. Only one minute of thinking! Ten minutes of writing! Ten and only ten! And I WILL find out if you cheat! See, I want this to be unplanned with no point, no idea about where it's going, you just write. And writer's block isn't any excuse, because there's no point, and it's not supposed to be good. I did a test run of this and managed to write a little less than 400 words and there was a cat in it and a daughter named Marjorina and I killed off four people.

So, don't think about it, but just sit down and write for ten minutes straight. If you really can't get started, you can use this as your beginning (or whatever):

"It's already March!" Mrs. Heist yelled. "Marjorina, what are you doing?"

Also, this is very important!: don't try to make it "good" because that's annoying. The crappier the better.

Indemnification
I'm not sure what this means but I think it's supposed to go in here somewhere. Now, if you've already started thinking about what you're going to write, go do it. If you haven't, don't start until you're ready to sit there for eleven minutes. Eleven minutes, and no more - one minute of thinking, ten minutes of writing. You can break up your thinking into two or even three parts if you want.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019