1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

An entry written after my first day on the job, a day during which I wondered why I don't just go out and get a job that I actually want.
Monday, Jan. 10, 2005 - 19:24

I went to work in my fabulous skirt but my tights weren't quite so fabulous and they were making my skirt ride up. Luckily, because I am so smart and forward-thinking, I had brought a shinier pair of tights along, so I changed into those and my skirt stopped riding.

I work in a very tall building and from the reception area you can see Mt. Rainier, Mt. Adams, and Mt. St. Helens. There was a little plume of smoke coming from Mt. St. Helens this morning. (Why is Mt. St. Helens plural?)

I work in a little room at a computer on the 27th floor. My room has a view of the skyscraper across the street.

I work on stuff I can't tell you about. If I invent anything while I'm working there they get credit for it. I signed all these papers this morning about stuff like that.

After work I ate chocolate cake and tea and burnt stir fry and toast and part of a chocolate bar with almonds. I talked to Bank of America on the phone. Here's a tip: If you do any online moneying, write down the transaction number they give you, because if you don't, you won't have any proof that you, say, transferred $500 into one of your checking accounts on December 24th and that you actually did have enough money in there to cover that check you wrote the next day. It's crazy, I know, I've never had problems with online banking ever before either, but, you know, anyway.

Also today I remembered why I only wear my nice little army dress-up shoes once every ten years. They kill my feet, man. I almost had to start limping on my way to the bus tunnel after work.

Also, I went into the bus tunnel through Benaroya Hall and there's a sign that said "Goat Creek". But really it says "Coat check" and I'm just crazy.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019