1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

I think there are other things I wanted to write about, but I can't remember what
Sunday, Dec. 19, 2004 - 14:47

Also yesterday, I forgot to say, I got a 10,000 Maniacs record, In My Tribe, with Peace Train on it, which my CD doesn't have. Did you know, they initially had Peace Train on that album, my sister's CD has it on it, but then took it off subsequent pressings because of Cat Stevens's remarks about the death sentence or whatever of Salman Rushdie? (I totally didn't know how to spell his name, turns out I got it right, apparently.) Too bad, it's a great version of the song.

I forgot to tell you, as well, that I got a job for tomorrow and Tuesday. Business casual, I was happy to hear. I've been worried about clothes. I don't have any professional business clothes except for one fabulous fantastic pinstriped skirt which I deeply love but have never worn. I don't want to get any business clothes. I hate business clothes. I hate dressing up, I hate dressing smartly. And this temp agency, they're very nice and professional and do a lot of placements for law firms and crap, so I was worried I'd have to dress professionally. I have one pair of black pants, and they're cotton, and they're Dickies. I have two pairs of black leather shoes but no shoe polish here and they're both in need of polishing. I don't have a citified jacket.

I am hick, very hick.

Anyway, I was thinking about arbitrariness on the bus yesterday. Jeans are casual because we want them to be casual. There's nothing inherently unprofessional about jeans, all this stuff is arbitrary. I'm sure that there's much more to it, I'd have to know more about the history of textiles and dyes and stuff, and, jeans fade and we want things to keep their color in order to look new and rich.

And now today I'm wearing pink underwear and they're inside-out. Upon discovery of the situation I briefly thought about rectifying it, but, given the difficulties involved therein, to wit, taking off my shoes, and then my pants, and then my underwear, and then putting them all back on again, I decided against it. So inside-out my underwear remain.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019