1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Things break, things get lost, and now there won't be Tom Brokaw anymore either.
Wednesday, Dec. 01, 2004 - 16:59

Yes, and so the other night I decided to do both, play the Sims and go take pictures.

I can only play the Sims at certain times deemed appropriate by the robot gods now because both of my CD drives have recently gone the way of the flake. The CD-RW drive was always temperamental, so that wasn't surprising, but now the regular CD drive is being all crappy too. The regular CD drive hasn't been able to read a CD at all for a few weeks, and the other drive will start reading randomly whenever it feels like it. I just keep the Sims CD in there all the time, so every once in a while all of a sudden the Sims will start up when I don't want it to. But when I want it to it won't work. Crappy.

So I think I'm going to have to buy a new drive or two very soon. And then I'll have to put them in. And then they probably won't work, or else then something else will break. It's a good thing I don't own a car.

And, I was out taking pictures, and it was cold, and there were a couple shots that I decided I needed a tripod for... usually I just set the camera on a bench or garbage can or whatever, but these were shots that I wanted from the middle of the street... I was using my Seagull TLR, in case you wondered. Then I decided to go home and go out the next night with a tripod. I had gloves on. They're called Hotfingers, which is a really nice idea but it's a total lie because all I've ever had in them is coldfingers. So I put my hands in my pockets. My cable release was in one pocket and I thought to myself, "Golly, I hope I don't drop this little thing on the ground somewhere. That would suck."

Then I ended up dropping it somewhere.

I went back out with a flashlight and retraced my steps to no avail. Then I was going to look for it the next morning in the light, but, because I lost my cable release and because I'm moving in three days, it decided to snow overnight. So now my poor little cable release is somewhere, cold, buried under two inches of snow, being trampled upon perhaps, and I'll have to drive to Seattle on slick scary roads pulling a trailer full of crap.

And now it's all snowy wintery out and there would be some nice pictures, but I can't take them because I don't have a cable release and so my shaky pushy hand would jiggle the camera.

It's annoying, I used to have two of them but lost the other one somewhere in the middle of Vienna one night. You use them at night, right, because the shutter speeds are slower and you don't want to shake the camera, but the stupid skinny little things are black and losy, so why don't they make them hot pink or something?

I just got really tired. I moved out of my bed today, which means I washed the sheets and won't put them back on until Saturday night in Seattle, and I'll be sleeping in my little sister's bed instead. I emptied out my desk, I put together a couple boxes of books, I looked for the boxes for my stereo but couldn't find them and if they're gone what will I do.

Also, I don't want my roommate to think I'm a total psycho, so I'm going to put all of my Pearl Jam bootlegs into a shoebox or two and I'll hide them under my bed. She told me she's obsessed with Law and Order, so I'm sure she wouldn't make fun of me to my face, but maybe her friends would.

My other sister's dog was just up here and was singing along to Modest Mouse. She also sings along when I'm playing Beethoven on the piano. It's funny, but very loud and shrill, so you can't really hear yourself playing.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019