1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Last Melbourne show
Fucking Friday, February 21, 2003 - 11:46

Okay, dudes, I've already said that I say this about every show, but seriously the show last night was fabulous. I went to bed at like 2 and woke up at 7 and couldn't go back to sleep because I was still so wound up.

They played Breath and Porch and Footsteps and Know Your Rights by the Clash. And I was in the fourth row smack in the center and there were fabulous people around me. There were like four girls next to me who started screaming and jumping when they got to their seats because they were so close, and then during the show they were totally into it and it was fun.

They only played what seemed like a few songs and then they were walking off the stage for the first break and I couldn't believe how quickly it had gone by.

And at some point Mike McCready pointed his guitar at me, which might make you laugh because how would I know he was pointing it at me? Well he was. And during Insignificance he pointed at me and then pointed to his chest to show that he recognized my shirt and then started saying something which I couldn't hear because it was a little too loud for intimate conversation and I can't lip-read either, so I don't know what he was saying, but he was looking at me and pointing and talking and it went on for a while and then people started looking around to see who he was talking to and it was ME!

Now why, you ask, would Mike McCready do that to me? Oh, did I forget to mention that I met him before the show? Hmm, I guess I did.

Yes, I did. I got to the show stupidly early and realized I could either go sit in my seat for an hour before Johnny Marr (who I find incredibly interesting) or I could go hang out and peoplewatch. So I opted for the latter, going out to the patio, which was right above the stage door. And then Mike came out and these two guys asked him to come up the steps to sign their programs. So he did, and he talked to us for like 10 or 15 minutes. There were only those two guys, me, two groupie girls he knew, and then two ladies from New Zealand came up for a bit.

And during the show when he was pointing at me it wasn't like "Wow, Mike McCready is pointing at me" it was like "Wow, that guy I just met is Mike McCready and he's pointing at me now."

So that was pretty cool.

It was over way too soon.

And I guess that's all I have to say for now. I leave tomorrow morning and I can't believe it and I can't believe I came here and I can't believe how much fun I've had and the fabulous people I've met and the songs I've seen and everything else and now it's almost over and I'm going to go walk around in the nice rain after I internet for a while and I'm going to go to my cafe and have lunch and then I'll see what happens. It'll be weird tonight without a show to go to.

So TTFN, and here are some Pearl Jam lyrics to wrap it all up: I've lived all this life like an ocean in disguise, I don't live forever, you can't keep me here.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019