1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Melbourne 2
Rursday, February 20, 2003 - 10:25

The show last night was fantastic, and forgive me for not having much coherent to say about it. Usually I write it in my travelogue and then have an idea of what to write here, but this is the first I've written about it.

Yesterday morning I went to this internet place and bought a ticket...last row way at the back at the top. I was up so high I could have touched the ceiling, if I'd been like 10 feet taller. But it was cool, it was a different perspective. Besides, tonight I have fourth row center so I have nothing to complain about. Have I already said that here? I've been bragging about it all over the place, so I've probably mentioned it here too.

The light show is great, especially for the new songs like Cropduster and especially You Are. You Are is my favorite song of the moment. It's so fucking cool live. You are! You are! You are! You are! etc.

There was a girl sitting next to me named Erin who was by herself and had seen them in 1995 when she was 15 and had decided the night before to go see them again. Her favorite albums are Ten and Vs. Afterwards she was so excited that she decided to try to get a ticket for tonight's show as well. That's cool, isn't it?

On the other side of me were these two cute little kids, well, they were like 16 or 17 or 18. Shawn and Melissa. Shawn likes wrestling. They really liked the show too.

They all thought I was really neat, but I thought they were neat too. It's fun to sit next to nice people.

Not For You was really good. And they played I Got Shit! And Throw Your Arms Around Me! And Save It For Later in Betterman was really good. I love that tag and I always want to hear it and it was really good last night. It was a great setlist. There were other neato things that happened but I can't remember.

It's hard going to so many shows. It's tiring.

:)

I missed the first song of Johnny Marr's set, which made me mad, because I really like Johnny Marr. I've probably never mentioned this before, but I think Johnny Marr is incredibly interesting and I like watching him.

So tonight is my last show here and I'm pretty excited for it. I would be sad, but I'm not sad anymore in my new life. It should be lots of fun. I'm going to bring my camera in...I have 1600 speed film so I won't use the flash and the pictures will hopefully turn out okay. The security people at the front are all scared of girls. But I made a guy pat me down last night and he was embarrassed. I was supposed to go in the girls' line, but how was I supposed to know that? Now that I'm thinking about the show I'm all excited and can hardly keep still. Woohoo, yeehaw.

I'm now a regular at this internet place. The guy knows me and knows how to spell my name. Isn't that funny? I also regularly go get delicious jam donuts from some bakery up the street. And I have a nice bookshop that I go to occasionally.

I have to confirm my return plane ticket, and I have to figure out how to get to the airport on Saturday morning. That sucks. I don't want to go home.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019