1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Sydney night 1
Wednesday, February 12, 2003 - 13:36

I wrote this last night at 12:57 after the show:

Wow. Tonight was amazing. I can hardly believe it happened.

The train got here a little late. I didn't get into my room until 6. I tried to call the guy I was buying my ticket from but there was no answer. So I checked my email and he'd sent me two saying he'd be at a bar on George St and told me how to get there but gave no address. So I searched for the bar on the internet and found an address and ran over there, but the bar wasn't there. I ran around some more and finally found it at a different location.

I told a guy I was looking for the guy I was buying the ticket from. He said the guy I was buying the ticket from had gone down to the street. Finally, at long last, we found each other. He is like the nicest guy I've ever met. He had third row seats. We were right in front of Stone. We were so close I could see the sweat dripping off of Eddie's nose.

The show was outstanding, the best I've seen or heard. They opened with Long Road. Wishlist was unbelievable, with this cool jam session at the end, during which Eddie did a couple lines from fucking Beast of Burden. They played Down, LBC, MFC, DTE, Save You, Evenflow, Not For You, Untitled, Immortality, Corduroy, Spin the Black Circle, Insignificance, You Are! (completely fucking kickass awesome), Black, um, can't remember but it was great. The setlist was perfect. They closed with Indifference.

It was so good. Wow. I can't believe I'm here. It's really late and I'm tired, but wow. It was so good.

At one point Eddie was sprawled out on his back over the monitors singing. After one encore Boom came out carrying Eddie. There were lots of jumps and scissor kicks, which are always amusing, but no sychronized jumps like in Brisbane. No lyric fuckups like in Brisbane. Lots of last minute set changes.

It was over way too soon.

It was so fucking good, and I've been walking around with a smile on my face all day.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019