1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Stupid stupid movies
Rursday, January 16, 2003 - 10:36

I just read a story about this year's upcoming movies, and read the following paragraph in disbelief:

Antonio Banderas reprises his gunslinging "Desperado" role in "Once Upon a Time in Mexico"; Reese Witherspoon has a new day in court with "Legally Blonde 2: Red, White & Blonde"; Jackie Chan and Owen Wilson follow up "Shanghai Noon" with "Shanghai Knights"; and Bruce Willis and Matthew Perry of "The Whole Nine Yards" make a new hitman comedy, "The Whole Ten Yards."

"Legally Blonde 2: Red, White & Blonde"? How can that not be a joke? And "The Whole Ten Yards"? I saw and liked both of the first movies, but why does everything have to be a sequel now? And why do sequels have to have such stupid names, like "The Matrix: Reloaded"?

And then there's this:

"American Wedding," in which some of the "American Pie" gang attend the nuptials of gross-gag victim Jason Biggs and band geek Alyson Hannigan

The first "American Pie" was a pretty good movie; funny and outrageous, yet sentimental. "American Pie 2" was stupid and only went for laughs, using the same gags the first movie had, only stupider. "American Wedding" will probably be the stupidest of all.

And what about the new Bridget Jones movie? I asked about this before, but I spelled her name wrong. It's bothered me ever since, and I've thought about changing it, but that just goes to show you how weird I am. I'm bothered by this misspelling, but won't take the ten seconds to fix it. There was also an entry in which I used the word "thie", meaning either "this" or "the", but since I couldn't decide what I wanted, I typed "thie", and since I still can't decide what it should be, it's still "thie". Just to let you know. I wouldn't want anyone thinking that I take this whole diary thing lightly.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019