1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Old school, and I suck
Sunday, December 15, 2002 - 22:40

Despite having a thesis draft to finish (normal people would already be done with the fucker), I have managed to find the time to watch the A&E miniseries Pride and Prejudice this weekend. I hadn't seen it in over a year, so I'd forgotten how excellent and extremely enjoyable it is. Mr. Darcy is just so dashing. Needless to say, I was horrified to find that I'd taken it off my list of favorite movies, a mistake I've remedied.

I love Jane Austen!

Colin Firth should seriously grow those sideburns back and wear one of those two foot high top hats. Whenever I see him in other movies I'm slightly disappointed at how decidedly un-Mr. Darcy-looking he is. And when is the next Briget Jones movie coming out?

I'm currently listening to one of the greatest albums ever. Yes, you guessed it, it's Disintegration by the Cure. I have also re-added the Cure to my list of favorite bands.

And this morning I listened to Poison's Flesh and Blood. You may recall, or perhaps I never told you, that once upon a time Poison was my favorite band. I've only had serious relationships with two bands, and the first of these was with Poison, from 6th grade to 8th grade. I broke up with Poison, though, because of Flesh and Blood. The album is good, you see--there are quite a few really good songs on it, and it really shows that they were maturing as songwriters, musicians, and people. However, the first single and video (complete with cartoon bikini girls) for the album was Unskinny Bop, the most vapid song on the album. I was so disappointed in them for that move that I stopped liking them completely. I had outgrown them, which is sad, because I was only 14, and I was supposed to be the young immature one in the relationship.

Anyway, after that, I drifted around without a favorite band for a few years. I flirted with hip hop for a few short months in early 1991 (C&C Music Factory, anyone?), but then found solace and amusement in the arms of bands like the Violent Femmes and the Cure. Then Enya, then Led Zeppelin, then the Doors. Many people in my school fell under the influence of country music and became hicks. I listened to country music as well (and I'm still terribly fond of the music that came out at that time), since the radio in my dad's truck that I drove to school only got one AM radio station, and I will admit to going to a few hick parties, but I never became a hick (not that hicks are bad or anything...on the contrary, they're perfectly fine...they have fun parties, too, with big bonfires and wrestling in the dirt and towing other cars with their big trucks and stuff). Blah blah blah etc. etc., then in 1994 or 1993 I met Pearl Jam and we've been together ever since.

But this morning as I listened to Poison, I couldn't help but wonder: What if? What if we hadn't broken up? What if it had worked out for us? Would I have turned out differently? Would I have gotten another perm? Would I have gotten a boob job (although I can't see why I would have, since my boobs are big enough as they are)? Would I have become a Poison groupie? Would I have gotten a Poison tatoo on one of my silicone-enhanced boobs? Would I be following their tours around? Would I still be dressing like it's 1988? Would Rikki Rocket still by my favorite, or would I have come to my senses and switched my idolatry to Bobby Dall?

How many people do you think left Poison for Pearl Jam? Probably a couple, I bet. At least.

Don't think I was cheating on Pearl Jam by listening to my ex-favorite band, though. Pearl Jam and I are secure enough in our relationship that we can each listen to other bands without the other one getting all jealous and stuff. You might say Pearl Jam and I have an open relationship, because Pearl Jam actually *encourages* me to listen to other bands. Pearl Jam likes it, says it makes me more experienced and more able to appreciate Pearl Jam's skillful music-making. Umm...

God damn son of a bitch. I hate school. The misery! I am in constant misery! My life is a constant struggle! I'm tired and want to go to bed but can't because I've been fucking around all weekend month quarter year! Seriously! Feel sorry for me! I suck.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019