1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

My journalism teacher always said assuming makes an ass out of you and me
Monday, November 4, 2002 - 22:12

I've always wanted to be mysterious. Instead I'm just misunderstood.

I suppose I could pretend I'm mysterious. Maybe I am, and I'm just too sensitive about what my mystery inspires in people.

People assume things about me, they pigeonhole me, they put me in a box and expect me to fit.

But people don't know me, not even Mr. Pooh sometimes. They have no idea what I think or believe or feel.

They think what they think, and that makes me sad.

Because that means that they think they know everything about me and that's that. But even I don't know everything about me.

As Walt Whitman said, I am large, I contain multitudes.

And I think everyone contains multitudes.

We're too large to fit in pigeonholes.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019