1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Steroid alert
October 21, 2002 - 9:49

I got a deferral from jury duty because I'm a student...which I was the first time I went in when they gave me a two-week deferral. This time I told them when the quarter ends so hopefully I won't get a nother summons this quarter.

I think the jury system here is on steroids. I heard a lady there say it was her fourth time being called in in four years, and some guy said he'd had to come in the year before too. And in the past month I've had to go in twice. My parents have lived in my hometown for thirty years, and my dad was a potential juror one time, but he never had to go in. And that's all.

Yet a nother reason this place sucks.

Here are some things I do like about it here: hearing the foghorns from my bedroom, the heavy fog that we sometimes get, the architecture (e.g. balconies and patios and courtyards and other such places where you can enjoy the 360 days of non-rainy weather we have each year), the year-round growing season, the smell of the nice-smelling trees in January, In-N-Out Burger.

Here's some things I don't like about it: the lack of seasons, the lack of dramatic weather, the absence of clouds, all the damn people, real estate prices, the conspicuous lack of Dairy Queens, and the lack of big freshwater lakes that it is okay to swim in.

Don't tell my professor, but I'm not going in to school today even though I could.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019